Course settings

General

Course full name

This is the name of the course. It is displayed as a link on course lists on the Front page and on the Dashboard and in reports. It is also used in the browser title bar when the course is viewed.

Short name

Many institutions have a shorthand way of referring to a course, such as BP102 or COMMS. Even if you do not already have such a name for your course, make one up here. It will be used in several places where the long name is not appropriate, such as the Navigation block.

Course category

The site administrator may have created course categories to help teachers and users find their courses easily.

Course start date

This setting will have an effect on the display of logs. This will be the earliest possible date the log activity will display.

Course end date

The course end date is used for determining whether a course should be included in a user's list of courses. When the end date is past, the course is no longer listed in the navigation block / drawer and is listed as past in the Course overview on users' dashboards.

The course end date is also used for calculating the retention period before data is deleted. It may also be used by a custom report e.g. reporting activity for the duration of a course.

Users can still enter the course after the end date; in other words the date does not restrict access.

Calculate the end date from the number of sections

For courses in weekly format only, the course end date may be calculated automatically based on the course start date and the number of sections. If course sections (weeks) are added or removed, the course date is changed automatically. If 'Calculate the end date from the number of sections' is ticked, the course end date can not be set manually.

Course summary

The summary appears on the course listings page. This field is searched when searching for a course and also appears in the Course/Site description block.

Course image

An image (and if allowed by the administrator, other file types) may be attached to the course summary. They will be accessible by anyone from outside of the course just like the course name and/or summary.

Course format

Format

See Course Formats

Hidden sections

This option allows you to decide how the hidden sections in your course are displayed to users. By default, a small area is shown (in collapsed form, usually grey) to indicate where the hidden section is, though they still cannot actually see the hidden activities and texts. This is particularly useful in the Weekly format, so that non-class weeks are clear, or if you have quizzes you don't want your users to see.

Tip

If you choose, these non-available items can be completely hidden, so that users do not even know that sections or an activity in the course are hidden.

Course layout

The Course layout setting determines whether the whole course is displayed on one page or split over several pages. The setting currently applies to the topics and weekly core course formats and contributed collapsed topics course format only.

Teachers choose from the dropdown whether they wish to show all sections on one page in the familiar scrolling format, or show one section per page.

If one section per page is selected, the course page is abbreviated to a list of links to individual sections. If an individual section is shown, next and previous sections may be accessed via links above and below the section.

Appearance

Force language

If you force a language in a course, the interface of Learnsby in this course will be in this particular language, even if a user has selected a different preferred language in his/her personal profile.

Number of announcements

How many recent announcements from the Announcements forum should show in the Latest announcements block.

If an announcements forum is not required in the course, this setting should be set to zero.

Show gradebook to users

Here you can decide whether to allow users to see the link to grades in the Administration block. If your course doesn't use graded activities, it makes sense to disable this. If grades are used and this link is disabled, users can still see their grade from the actual activity itself, such as an assignment

Show activity reports

Here you can decide whether to show users their activity reports. Doing so places a load on the server however, which is why the setting is disabled by default.

Files and uploads

Maximum upload size

Here you can decide the largest size of file that users can upload to a course. The site administrator can determine sizes available for the teacher to select.

Completion tracking

Completion tracking must be enabled for Activity completion. Course completion criteria may also be based upon Activity completion values found in the activity's settings.

Groups

Group mode

Here you can define the group mode at the course level by a pull down menu. "No groups", "Separate groups" and "Visible groups" are the choices. The selected setting will be the default group mode for all activities defined within that course. The group setting can affect what users see in the participants list and who they can interact with in activities.

Force

If the group mode is "forced" at a course-level, then this particular group mode will be applied to every activity in that course. This will override any activities that may have a special group setting.

Default grouping

If groupings are enabled, a default grouping for course activities and resources may be set.

Role renaming

You can rename the roles used in your course. These new role names will appear within the course. For example on the participants and the override permissions pages.

Tags

Teachers can add course tags here, either new tags or official tags. See Tags